Hall of Fame Committee

Chairperson, Vicki Winston
email Vicki

Barry Chapelle – OR
Ron Deckard – FL
Joan Elmore – TN
Mark Seibold – IN/FL
Dave Loucks – CA
Gary Roberts – OH
Mel Yockstick – CO
Stuart Sipma – ND
Jerry Smith – OH
Paul Stewart – NC
Ron Weiss – PA
Walter Ray Williams Jr. – FL
Stan Griggs  –  MO
Amy Francis – OH

The Hall of Fame Committee consists of fifteen (15) voting members. Voting takes place early in the calendar year. The ballot is divided into three categories. Each committee member casts a maximum of 15 points in each category, using increments of 5, 4, 3, 2 and 1 point for a maximum of five different nominees. If they don’t wish to vote for as many as five nominees, they do not vote all of the points available. Committee members abstain from voting in categories where their own name or the name of a relative is listed on the ballot.

To be elected to the NHPA Hall of Fame, a nominee must receive 20% of the points that were voted in their category. If no candidate receives the necessary percentage of votes, there is no election in that category. If there is no election in a category for two consecutive years, the committee chairman will issue a second ballot for that category listing only the top 5 recipients of votes from the first ballot. The nominee receiving the most votes from the second ballot will be declared elected.

Vicki Winston, director of the NHPA Hall of Fame Committee, is pleased to announce the results of the 2022 voting.  Two people will be inducted into the Hall of Fame during the NHPA Hall of Fame and Awards Banquet that will be held in Monroe, LA during the 2022 World Horseshoe Tournament.
  • Debra Brown, of Vermont, has been elected in the Player category and has indicated that she will be in Monroe for the induction ceremony.
  • The late Ronnie Simmons, of California, has been elected in the Historic Era Player category.  Unfortunately, Ronnie passed away in Feb. 2021, so we will not be able to honor him in person.

The HOF committee is hoping that many people will plan to attend the banquet this year to help welcome these deserving individuals into the Hall of Fame.


Nominations to the NHPA Hall of Fame may be made by an individual NHPA member or NHPA Sanctioned Club. Please use the Nomination Form that can be found on the Hall of Fame menu of this site. All nominees must have been active NHPA adult members for at least 10 years.


PLAYER – (a) A player who has won a World Championship at least 2 times, or (b) a player who has averaged at least 75% and/or finished in the top 5 of one or more W.T. Championship Division finals at least 4 times, or (c) a player who has pitched in at least 8 World Championship Division finals of any combination of divisions and averaged at least 70% for those events.

PROMOTER/ORGANIZER – A person who has administered, promoted and/or organized horseshoe pitching activities for at least 8 years for the benefit of NHPA members at the national or regional level.

HISTORIC ERA PLAYER – A person with similar qualifications as in the Player category and who last pitched in a W.T. Championship Division finals at least 35 years prior to the year of nomination.

All nominations will be reviewed by the HOF Screening Committee before candidates are placed on the ballot. Any nomination found not to be acceptable will be returned to the sender.

NHPA Hall of Fame Location

100 Bluestem Way
Wentzville, MO 63385