DES MOINES, IOWA - AUG. 28-SEPT. 1, 1922

Permission granted by author, Gary T. Kline of
"The Official N.H.P.A. History of the World Tournament 1909-1980", Reflection Press, Dayton, Ohio
Gary T. Kline's book on past world tournament (before 1980) is recommended reading for any horseshoe pitching enthusiast. With his kind permission, we bring excerpts from his fabulous collection of data, to wit:

1922 World Tournament (Summer)

With all the talent gathered in the 70 man field, this promised to be the most exciting tournament yet. Some of the experienced veterans were 14- year-old Fred Hay, Ed Steindorf, Ed Werner , Verner Erickson, O. W. Anderson, Billy Crick, Willie Witt, Chris Erickson, E. R. Plagman, Jack Erwin and Max Krause.

Of the great ones who still exist on the top 100 all time victory list, those entered were newcomers Hansford E. Jackson and Carroll E. Jackson, both sons of the legendary Frank Jackson. The veterans were Harold Falor, then 14 years old; George May, 1920 World Champion; Fred M. Brust, 1919 World Champion; Ralph Spencer, 1922 Winter runner-up; C. C. Davis, undefeated in his only full appearance, winning 21 straight to become 1922 Winter World Champion; and Frank E. Jackson, winner of the past two summer tournaments, and on a current 29 game winning streak.

Adding to the excitement was young Lyle Brown, losing but one game in the just finished State Tournament, 50-48, to the nation's newest sensation, Frank Lundin, 1922 Iowa State Champion. (Lundin slaughtered Frank Jackson by scores of 50-10 and 50-17 to win the State Title. Lundin led 38-0 before Jackson scored the first game and 43-0 the second game before Jackson broke through.) This was the first time an aggregation of past, current and future World Champions of this magnitude ever met in one place.

Preliminary play went practically as expected. C. C. Davis ran his winning streak to 28. Frank Jackson ran his to 34. Falor, Spencer, Hansford Jackson, Brown and Lundin all won their seven matches. The only veterans not advancing to the Semi-Finals were Werner, Anderson, Erwin and Krause.

In the Semi-Finals, the 36 survivors created plenty of action. In Group A, Frank Jackson's streak ended while losing twice. Meanwhile, veterans Hay, Witt and Steindorf were ousted. In Group B, Lundin ran his string to 15, while Brust was put out. In Group C, Davis ran his streak to 36 straight with Brown losing his first to Davis. In Group D, May won eight straight while administering Spencer his only loss. Verne Erickson was the only veteran casualty.

In the Finals, Lundin lost one game. That was to Brown, 50-39, Lyle hurling a fine 66 percent game. After beating Davis 50-30 in regular competition, May lost to Lundin, 50-22. Davis went down to Lundin, 50-20. Jackson lost to his son Hansford and again to Lundin. The "Grand Old Man" blasted May, 50-20 and Davis, 50-32. Spencer got revenge on Davis by beating Davis in the playoff, 50-44. Walls defeated Crank and Bair for 13th place, with Crank over Bair for 14th place.

Brown bested Spencer, 50-49, in the third place playoff. Plagman defeated Crick in the fifth place playoff, 50-37. While finishing seventh, Falor upset Davis, 50-48. May took eighth place, again beating Davis in the playoff, 50-44. Walls defeated Crank and Bair for 13th place, with Crank over Bair for 14th place.

Frank Lundin, born in Sweden in 1900, became the first man to win the World Championship who was not American born! With Lundin's magnificent victory, the elusive Championship was not to be defended! Since 1919, no man had as yet managed to win the World Title in consecutive tournaments. To win it once is hard enough, but few men win it two in a row!