Page 70

     On May 16, 1914, in Kansas City, Kansas, was organized the Grand League of American Horseshoe Pitchers, the first National organization the horseshoe game ever had. But beyond this fact, and the fact that Kansas furnishes the game with many leading pitchers, the state has not done a great deal in organization. Although many hard-fought state tournaments have been held, none of them were ever sanctioned by the National Association, but with the election of Alvin Dahlene, of Lawrence, to the post of National Second Vice President, it is hoped that this state will decide to enter the fold of sanctioned states by joining the National Association.
     Lloyd Woodard, of Columbus, won the state title in 1929, and Pert Harriss, of Minneapolis, captured the honor in 1930. In 1931, Lester McCollam, of Kincaid, a former champion, came back to take the title which he successfully defended in 1932. Frank Phillips, of Topeka, took the laurels in 1933, after a play-off with Merle Stoner, and in 1934 the veteran Bert Duryee once more ascended the throne. Alvin Candy, of Topeka, won out in 1935, and the following year saw Frank Phillips win in a playoff with Roland Kraft, the one-armed star from LeCompton. Gerald Brown, of Lawrence, came through in 1937. In 1938 there was no meet for the title, but in 1939, the scene shifted from Topeka, where all previous tourneys had been held, to Columbus. Alvin Candy won the title after a play-off with Alvin Dahlene.
     With such a wealth of horseshoe pitching talent, Kansas certainly could hold with any other state, and promises to have at least one great team in the National Team League.
     The National Representative in Kansas is Alvin Dahlene, of Lawrence.

     Kentucky first joined the National Association in 1928, but their membership has been allowed to lapse since that time. However, things have been pointing toward their rejoining at an early date.
     The first state tournament in Kentucky was held in Louisville in 1923, and was won by J. W. Netheron. Since that time the title was won three times by Mr. Akers, of Nolin, three times by Mr. Young, of Shelbyville, twice by Mr. McCoy, twice by Sam B. Mattingly, twice by Mr. Beckman, and once each by Mr. Miller and Mr. Soete.
     A strong and willing worker for horseshoes in Kentucky is E. B. Patterson who has been president for 12 years.