Page 67

had been ably represented at the Moline Convention by Philip Gilpatrick, and in 1936 became the second highest state in the membership list. Their membership dropped to two-thirds in 1937, and was halved again in 1938. In 1939 they voted at their state convention to drop out of the National Association entirely. Communications between the National Secretary and the State Secretary indicate, however, that the Bay State would be willing to rejoin the National fold if they can be shown that it would be to their advantage to belong.
     Here are the winners of the state title for the past seven years:
     James Shea won the title in 1933, 1934 and 1935, with percentages of .580, .617 and .630; 1936, Stanley DeLeary, .607; 1937, James O'Shea, .816; 1938, James O'Shea, .811; 1939, Stanley DeLeary, .723.
     Here are the winners of the New England championship for the past ten years: 1930, John Kilpeck, Massachusetts, .502; 1931, Bernard Herfurth, Massachusetts, .504; 1932, Charles Gerrish, New Hampshire, .514; 1933, Bernard Herfurth, Massachusetts, .530; 1934, Bernard Herfurth, Massachusetts, .662; 1935, James O'Shea, Massachusetts, .676; 1936, Stanley DeLeary, Massachusetts, .632; 1937, James O'Shea, Massachusetts, .745; 1938, James O'Shea, Massachusetts, .743; 1939, Kenneth Hurst, Rhode Island, .762.
     The ever-increasing ringer percentage tells the story better than words of the way the game is developing in the Massachusetts section of the land.

     Horseshoe pitching owes its modern beginning in Connecticut to Sam Bartram who, in 1925, moved from Kokomo, Ind., to Connecticut, and introduced the game there by giving exhibitions throughout the state and interesting people in taking up the sport. By 1939 he had created enough interest to be able to hold a state tournament at Bridgeport. The winner of this tournament was S. C. Lane, of Stamford, a recent resident of Ft. Lauderdale, Fla. Mr. Lane organized the Stamford Horseshoe Club, and from that time on the game grew steadily.
     A state tournament was held yearly in Bridgeport, and Mr. Lane continued as champion until 1933, when G. Georgetti, of Manchester, won the crown. He successfully defended it the next year also.
     In 1935 the Connecticut State Horseshoe Pitchers' Association was formed, and the site of the state tournament was moved to Greenwich. This meet was won by Irving Wood of New Canaan. William Crofut, of Shelton, captured the title in 1936, and S. C.