Page 32

Des Moines, and this time the Convention of National Horseshoe Pitchers Association was held in conjunction.
     The horseshoe world felt the need of a convention badly, for there were several points that needed fixing in the rules and laws that had been rendered obsolete by the march of progress.
     The preliminaries, of which no official score was kept, was lightning fast for ringer averages, and it is estimated that most of the high 16 shot close to an 80 per cent average to reach the finals. Ted Allen, who suffered four beatings in the preliminaries, crashed through the finals with 15 straight victories to retain his title. Dean Brown broke the world record against Lyle Brown by hanging up 20 consecutive double ringers, and after these two boys had tied for fifth place, a play-off game between them saw another record broken which had stood since the winter of 1925. The two Browns had four ringers on the stake for 10 successive innings. The players in the finals finished as follows:
1. Ted Allen150.827
2. Guy Zimmerman132.806
3. Charles Jones123.809
4. Alvin Gandy105.767
5. Lyle Brown96.755
6. Dean Brown96.801
7. Grover Hawley78.772
8. Aden Swinehamer78.737
9. Ira Allen78.774
10. Ellis Griggs78.746
11. Raymond Frye78.708
12. Roland Kraft69.708
13. Dale Dixon510.726
14. Sidney Harris411.693
15. J. Robert Tompkin213.650
16. Robert Bales 213.737

     The National Convention was a great success as far as passing the right laws and rules was concerned. It remains, of course, to see whether the new laws and rules can be enforced. If they can, the horseshoe game can look forward to 1940 with hope of reaching the road leading to greater heights than ever before attained. With the help of the pitchers themselves this can be done. Even as this book goes to press, at least three sources are trying to obtain the world tournament for 1940, and at least one source is certain. If the others come through also there may be the unusual sight of three world championship meets in one year. To say the least, this would be a vast change from the tournamentless years from 1935 through 1939.